Outstanding Officer Award

The "Outstanding Officer Award" is presented annually by the National Association of County Collectors, Treasurers and Finance Officers (NACCTFO), an affiliate of the National Association of Counties (NACo), to a person who has been an active member of NACCTFO for at least two years and who serves as a leader in their home state and as a professional of the highest caliber in the operation of their own county office.

During the time period from 1965 to 1968, this award was known as the "Distinguished Service Award," and was bestowed upon a worthy County Collector, Treasurer or Finance Officer who exemplified characteristics of leadership and professionalism. In 2017, the award was renamed to the "Outstanding Officer Award." A "Distinguished Panel of Judges" who are not affiliated with NACCTFO nor known to the organization, selects the winner. The award is presented at the NACCTFO Installation Banquet at the annual NACo/NACCTFO Conference each July. The nomination application is limited to no more than 1,000 words and no more than five (5) individual attachment items, including letters of recommendation and/or other recognition forms. Non-compliant entries will be returned un-judged.

Past Honorees

YearSorted By Year In Descending Order Recipient Title City State  
  2019 Ken Parrish Kent County Treasurer   Grand Rapids, MI
  2018 Doug Lasher Clark County Treasurer   Vancouver, WA
  2017 Linda Kizzire Sedgwick County Treasurer   Wichita, Kansas
  2016 Michael G. Diskin Essex County Treasurer   Elizabethtown, New York
  2015 Doris Maloy Leon County Tax Collector   Tallahassee, Florida
  2014 Stephen H. Holt Jasper County Collector of Revenue   Carthage, Missouri
  2013   Award Not Presented    
  2012 Pat Lensmeyer Boone County Collector of Revenue   Columbia, Missouri
  2011 Eileen King Riley County Treasurer   Manhattan, Kansas
  2010 Charles Jones Bell County Treasurer   Belton, Texas
  2009 Mark Altom Davis County Treasurer   Farmington, Utah
  2008 Barbara Ford-Coates Sarasota County Tax Collector   Sarasota, Florida
  2007 Bob Patterson Shelby County Trustee   Memphis, Tennessee
  2006 Chris Hughes Okaloosa County Tax Collector   Ft. Walton Beach, Florida
  2005 Dennis Hollingsworth St. Johns County Tax Collector   St. Augustine, Florida
  2004 Judy Ann Miller Pottawatomie County Treasurer   Council Bluffs, Iowa
  2004 Kim Reynolds Clarke County Treasurer   Osceola, Iowa
  2003 Nancy Krumwiede Ford County Treasurer   Paxton, Illinois
  2002 Sharon A. Winchell Cass County Treasurer   Atlantic, Iowa
  2001 Nancy Weeks Haskell County Treasurer   Sublette, Kansas
  2000 Bob Knowler Woodbury County Treasurer   Sioux City, Iowa
  1999 Ray Valdes Seminole County Tax Collector   Sanford, Florida
  1998 Helen Schatz Burleigh County Treasurer   Bismarck, North Dakota
  1998 Don Merz Sonoma County Treasurer   Santa Rosa, California
  1997 Jon Chafin Leon County Tax Collector   Tallahassee, Florida
  1996 Alfred Anderson Roanoke County Treasurer   Roanoke, Virginia
  1996 Jim Kennedy Yuba County Treasurer   Marysville, California
  1995 Mary "Dubbie" Buckler Marion County Treasurer   Indianapolis, Indiana
  1994   Award Not Presented    
  1993 Hobson Strain Polk County Tax Collector   Bartow, Florida
  1992 Douglas R. Aurand Winnebago County Treasurer   Rockford, Illinois
  1991 Glen O. Stapley Maricopa County Treasurer   Phoenix, Arizona
  1990 Sharon Shipley El Paso County Treasurer   Colorado Springs, Colorado
  1989 Arthur L. Monson Salt Lake County Treasurer   Salt Lake City, Utah
  1988 Helen L. Hill Adams County Treasurer   Brighton, Colorado
  1987   Award Not Presented    
  1986 Lynwood Roberts Duval County Tax Collector   Jacksonville, Florida
  1986 Jerome Bentz Brown County Treasurer   New Ulm, Minnesota
  1985 Helen R. Walker Victoria County Treasurer   Victoria, Texas
  1984 Maude Hawkins Wise County Treasurer   Wise, Virginia
  1983 Matt L. Bell III Escambia County Tax Collector   Pensacola, Florida
  1983 Dorothy Vogt Arapaho County Treasurer   Littleton, Colorado
  1983 Marg Alt Grand County Treasurer   Hot Sulfur Springs, Colorado
  1982 Bill Melton Dallas County Treasurer   Dallas, Texas
  1982 Linda Rhea Summit County Treasurer   Breckenridge, Colorado
  1982 Corleen Foust Graham County Treasurer   Robbinsville, North Carolina
  1981 Bill Van Rensselar County Treasurer   Troy, New York
  1980 Margorie Johasson Ada County Treasurer   Boise, Idaho
  1979 J. Grant Keys Lorain County Treasurer   Elyria, Ohio
  1978 Connie E. Hunter Bingham County Treasurer   Blackfoot, Idaho
  1977 Donald E. Couch Jefferson County Treasurer   Golden, Colorado
  1976 William J. Feldmeir Maricopa County Treasurer   Phoenix, Arizona
  1975 Mark B. Schwartz Walworth County Treasurer   Elkhorn, Wisconsin
  1974 Oren L. Brady Jr. Spartenburg County Treasurer   Spartenburg, South Carolina
  1973 Virgil Swartzlander Sandusky County Treasurer   Fremont, Ohio
  1972 Curtis Ezelle Hardee County Tax Collector   Wauchula, Florida
  1971 Victor E. Martinelli Tuscarawas County Treasurer   New Philadelphia, Ohio
  1970 Warren G. Harding Dallas County Treasurer   Dallas, Texas
  1969 Eva M. Cook Klamath County Treasurer   Klamath Falls, Oregon
  1968 Stella H. Spencer Guilford County Treasurer   Greensboro, North Carolina
  1967 Joe Torrence Davidson County Finance Director   Nashville, Tennessee
  1966 Gregory Esposito Oneida County Treasurer   Oneida, New York
  1965 Frank Brennan Cuyahoga County Treasurer   Cleveland, Ohio